5.0
Based on 40 Reviews
Ekaterina L.
2017-11-21 16:48:37
The experience I've had with Lightman Law Firm exceeded all of my expectations. Not only did they help me prepare and file the documents for my Green Card...
Shreyans B.
2017-11-15 14:12:00
I've worked with Doug and his team for multiple immigration issues over the years. I've recommended him to friends and family. All of us have had great...
Korey S.
2017-11-15 12:14:11
Douglas Lightman and his super-team took great care of my wife and I through the Green Card process (from the east coast, we live in the southwest and have...
Tiffany F.
2017-06-02 06:05:44
Have used Lightman Law Firm for 2 E3 visa's - been very efficient and extremely responsive and helpful! Highly recommend!
Shachar M.
2017-02-16 15:32:29
Wow. If you want the best Immigration attorney you can have, I highly highly recommend Doug. I've Been working with Doug for the past 5 years from H1B...
Galit T.
2016-10-26 09:03:03
My husband and I had a great experience here.We were treated as first priority and really felt like they were there for us throughout his Green Card...
Next Reviews
Ekaterina Lalo
00:33 22 Nov 17
I was first introduced to Mr. Lightman when I was a student at Hunter College. He came to talk to us about applying for an H1B visa, and he made an impression of an experienced and knowledgeable attorney. A few years later, when I needed help to prepare and file the application for my Green Card, his was the first name that came to my mind, and I am glad I consulted Mr. Lightman. Without his and his team's counsel, the application process would have been more stressful for me. As soon as I signed the agreement, I was given all the information I needed to start preparing the documents, which helped me file in a timely manner. Whenever I had questions, I emailed or called Douglas, Matthew or Iris, and I usually got the response the same day or the next day. The attorneys meticulously checked and double-checked all the documents before filing to make sure that nothing was missing. Finally, when the approval was granted, the attorney informed me the same day, so I didn't have to wait for the letter coming in the mail. I had such a great experience that I would recommend Lightman Law Firm to anyone who is not comfortable filing their Green Card or visa application on their own.read more
Shreyans Bhansali
22:10 15 Nov 17
I've worked with Doug and his team for multiple immigration issues over the years. I've recommended him to friends and family. All of us have had great experiences. Doug is knowledgeable, friendly, responsive, and just super helpful.I highly recommend working with him.read more
Taesoo Kim
21:23 14 Nov 17
I usually don't write reviews on anyone but I would like to write a review for Mr. Douglas Lightman and his colleagues for their excellent work. I was referred to Mr. Lightman from a colleague who got his H1b and green card via this firm. The firm successfully got my H1B transfer from my previous employer, and now we are in process of obtaining my green card. I had bad experiences with lawyers in the past , mainly on issues with poor communication. Thus far, I have no problem with communicating with Mr. Lightman and things are done in timely manner. I'm very appreciative of work done by Mr. Lightman and his colleagues. I referred two of my close colleagues to Mr. Lightman on their immigration issue. I would recommend Mr. Lightman to anyone seeking an excellent immigration lawyer!read more
David Shade
17:27 12 Sep 17
I was searching for an immigration lawyer in New York and came across Lightman Law Firm. Having never worked with an immigration lawyer previously, I was very nervous about making right the decision. After scouring the internet and doing as much research as possible, I decided to work with Lightman Law Firm as they seemed to be one of the more reputable US immigration law firms in New York. I was not disappointed! These guys were terrific, professionally handling all of my needs and ensuring that I felt comfortable and informed about the decisions that needed to be made. I highly recommend Lightman Law Firm!read more
Shannon McNamara
21:25 12 Aug 17
I would highly recommend this law firm. Everyone that we met and worked with during my husband's green card process was professional, courteous, and helped guide us every step of the way. They were always quick to respond if we had a question and they made a relatively stressful process as smooth as possible. Definitely use this law firm for your immigration needs! read more
Next Reviews

Below are several testimonials from clients who have retained the award-winning Lightman Law Firm, New York’s 2014 Immigration Law Firm of the Year as named by Acquisition International:

“Mr. Lightman as an immigration attorney is excellent with always his swift response. I hired him to get my status adjusted from H1B to a Permanent Resident. He goes in depth of your case family background or circumstances and analyzes the case and comes out with the best result out of it. He knows what he is doing and handles everything at it perfectly. In general all the lawyers know the rules and regulations and rights of their clients, but he knows how to implement all of them in the right way. I highly recommend Mr. Lightman as a knowledgeable, sincere, well versed and professional attorney. I would definitely look forward to work with him in near future. Thank you Mr. Lightman.”
-Hemantkumar Patel & Krishna Patel

“I hired Lightman Law Firm to file my adjustment of status application for me and ultimately revive a green card. My case was not ideal for any lawyer as I had a criminal background from home. Mr. Lightman kept me informed throughout the whole case (almost 9 months) and was more helpful than I could have asked. His rates are excellent and for the quality of service he provides I would have paid double. I was away from my email when Mr. Lightman got the news and he contacted me on a Sunday when I returned to give me the great news. Top class.”
-D. Price

“Douglas was not only knowledgeable and professional but so personable and attentive. He helped us throughout the entire process and gave us peace of mind. Our case was not an easy one but he made sure that we had everything to get an great end result. Would recommend him to anyone, any day. Thank you Douglas Lightman!”
-Paula S.

“When you phone Doug Lightman looking for immigration advice what strikes you is that he really knows what he’s talking about. I was applying for an H1B visa and had already spoken to 3 immigration lawyers, who all gave me conflicting advice. I then spoke to Doug and immediately knew I wanted him to represent me. He knows all of the qualifying requirements and how to manage the visa process smoothly, from application to approval. Throughout the process he made himself available to give advice and answer any questions. A true professional – this guy is at the top of his field.”
-David P.

“Working with Mr. Lightman was a text book guide rule how attorney-client relationship should be. Mr. Lightman was very informative on my situation which made me feel very confident about how my case will turn out. Thanks to his diligent work and preparation in regards to my case, the whole process felt almost to good to be real. Thank you Mr. Lightman for everything. Most of all thank you for helping me getting the opportunity to follow my dreams.”
-Ivan Bozovic

“Earlier this year, my firm was searching for the right immigration lawyer to assist me in obtaining a work visa. After spending several hours with various lawyers we decided on Mr. Lightman, whose honesty and ability to simplify and communicate the complicated jargon of immigration law was unmatched. Although I had previously been rejected when attempting to obtain a TN visa under the Management Consultant category at the Vancouver airport, Mr. Lightman assured me that I was eligible for a TN visa under this category. Working with Mr. Lightman on the application process was straightforward and stress-free, and I was shocked at how quickly the application was submitted and approved. I will definitely go to Mr. Lightman for any of my future immigration needs.”
-Kristen A. – RSR Partners

“We would like to share our experience on working with Attorney Douglas Lightman. Originally we were on J-visa status and we contacted Mr. Lightman to work with us to apply for a green card. He promptly sent us precise information on the procedure and a checklist of necessary documents. He handled our case carefully. He strictly checked all the steps from document preparation and submission of the application to avoid any mistake. He answered our phone calls without any delay. Our application was approved approximately in about seveb months without any request for further documents. We are very grateful for his sincere help. Mr. Lightman is not only an excellent attorney but also a good friend. In fact, his handling fee was also very reasonable for his services. Therefore, we recommend Mr. Lightman without any reservation.”
-Ayalew Ligaba Osena and Yoko Imai – National Interest Waiver (NIW) Green Card

“I researched several immigration lawyers and chose Mr. Doug Lightman because I found him to be the most knowledgeable. Mr. Lightman offered excellent legal advice and was attentive and supportive throughout the multi-stepped process. As a result, within five months of filing the paperwork, I received my green card. I strongly recommend Mr. Lightman for immigration legal services.”
-Amy F.

“I have been extremely satisfied with the exceptional service Lightman Law Firm provided me. Mr. Lightman walked me through the whole process step by step, answering all and every question I had, keeping me informed of any relevant aspect of the ongoing process and finally, achieving our goal on getting the approval on the H1B visa. I have found his services pompt, efficient and would recommend him to any of my colleagues.”
-Claudia L.

“Mr. Lightman was very honest, yet optimistic about my case from the start. He walked me through the entire process, was able to answer all my questions, and was always responsive. He was proactive beyond expectations and really listened to my concerns. Mr. Lightman worked to figure out the best visa route for me and presented the different possible options, allowing me to make an informed decision. Though he researched the likelihood of a TN visa approval at my request, he suggested applying for the H1-B after providing a thorough analysis. Mr. Lightman was clear with what he needed for the application and informed me of any changes every step of the way. The visa was approved in a record time of only 10 days! When there were some problems with the payment due to my employer’s check, Mr. Lightman immediately made several calls to find a solution. My work visa is officially confirmed and I can now stay in the US to work legally. If I ever need legal assistance concerning U.S. immigration, I will definitely look to Lightman Law Firm.”
-Vivienne So

“When I was initially offered employment in New York it took me some time time to work out what sort of Visa I needed. As soon as I contacted Douglas Lightman, he pointed me in the right direction and was swift in replying to my emails. I was keen to start working in the US and after seeing how helpful Doug was with my queries, I chose him as immigration attorney. Throughout the visa process he was always updating me and was happy to answer any of my questions. I was impressed with how quickly the application went through and attribute this to Doug’s diligent work and great attention to detail. Its fantastic to be working in New York and if I choose to renew my visa or apply for a greencard he’ll certainly be my first port of call!”
-Kieran B.

“Of course Doug is very knowledgeable on this subject and always kept us informed on the status of the case all the time. This is a given since the start line. But also important is the fact that he is very honest and he was always available for us. No matter what the question was, the day whether it was on a weekend or in the evening he was always available for us in a timely manner whether emails, meetings or phone calls with the willing to help and make sure that we understood the answers and the status of the process. Last, Doug was always right every time he anticipated when we should expect to receive certain documents in our mail box: if he said during that specific week, we did in fact receive the document or hear from the USCIS that specific week. Amazing!”
-Ariel and Debora S.

“Mr. Lightman was just what I needed to get my Green card in less than 4 months. He was ready to answer any question at any time! From the very beginning, from the first call, he was always there with all the informations I was looking for. He’s just incredibly competent and even the immigration officer by the time we were being interviewed said so, that she was very impressed and that she loved him! Because we got everything right and the process was the faster as it could get. Mr. Lightman is my man and I recommend him to all my friends and family. I will always trust him for any immigration matter and I truly appreciate his services!”
-Fabricia M.

“It was a pleasure to work with Doug on our green card through marriage application. Doug was very helpful in laying out the options for us in the beginning. He made sure our application was prepared and filed as soon as possible. He was extremely responsive to our many questions throughout the process. As a result, everything went very smoothly and our application was approved in just 3 months from the filing date. We would strongly recommend his services.”
-O.H. & C.H.

“Mr. Lightman was very efficient and precise, The whole process took just over three months and a true professional who made everything seem so easy and relaxed. I would highly recommend Lightman Law Firm if you want an outstanding service. Thanks Again!”
-Tim C.

“With all that we have been thru with previous attempts and immigration lawyers, you made the process painless and smooth. We appreciate the time you took to explain in detail the process and questions we had. Thanks and keep up the good work.”
-Emmanuel & Eunice E.

“In March 2009, we hired Lightman Law Firm and specifically Doug Lightman to help with our green card through marriage application. We can honestly say we made the right choice. Doug guided us through the process every step of the way. Preparing our application quickly and professionally, and most importantly absolutely correctly, we we’re able to move through the process much quicker than we had anticipated. At each step, Doug went above and beyond to make sure we were prepared and took his time to explain the best course of action. Most importantly, throughout the process we felt he was genuinely interested in us getting our green card. Before our green card interview Doug meticulously made sure we were organized and prepared. The result was a quick and smooth interview, resulting in a I-551 passport stamp (only 15 weeks after the application was mailed). We highly recommend Doug and his firm to anyone thinking of applying for a green card His expertise is invaluable and the time saved having a truly qualified and experienced professional prepare and send the documents on our behalf was more than worth the very reasonable fees.”
-Joel W. & Anna A.

“I was very delighted with Douglas’ attention. He was very accommodating and patient in answering each and every one of my many questions in successive communications. The plan of action was accurate and with no surprises and everything in my case went smoothly and as expected.”
-Alex C.

“Our company contacted Lightman Law Firm after 2 failed attempts to get one of our Canadian computer systems analysts into the US for a project with a customer. Doug Lightman took the time to really listen to what we needed, answered all our questions and walked us through the process step-by-step with great patience. Because of our previous failed attempts our situation was higher in risk, but with the assistance of Mr. Lightman, we not only got our computer systems analyst into the country for our project, we were able to get the paperwork approved for the full 3 years allowed. I highly recommend Lightman Law Firm and will definitely call when we need assistance again in the future. Doug Lightman is extremely professional, knowledgeable and easy to work with, and I appreciate all of his help.”
-Michelle Modglin (Operations Manager) – LeadThem Consulting

“If you’re looking for a bright, articulate immigration lawyer, this is the place. Doug was a true professional from our first interview through to completion of our current visa application. His attention to detail and ability to explain the whole process was illuminating. I look forward to working with him on our future immigration issues.”
-BR & KM – Westcop, Open Door

“The communication I received from Mr. Lightman surpasses any that can be expected from a lawyer. Despite unexpected problems regarding a prior visa status, of which Mr. Lightman had no connection, he continued to help via phone conversations and emails that exceeded 100 messages! In the end, I received my green card faster than any other colleague I’ve compared notes with.”
-PhD Researcher – National Interest Waiver (NIW)

“As a client of Lightman Law Firm, I am pleased with the quality of work and the result of the case. Mr. Lightman is diligent, trustworthy and responsive to my concerns. I appreciate the transparency in every step of the process and would suggest choosing Lightman Law Firm to represent in any visa application case.”
-L. Lanh – H-1B Visa

“Doug Lightman’s superior knowledge in Immigration Law not only sped up the process of obtaining my TN Status, but added an extra sense of comfort and reliability throughout the entire process. Doug provided world class guidance throughout the course of obtaining my TN Status by meticulously walking me through each step of the application and border interview, which served as a huge confidence builder on the day I applied at the Rainbow Bridge border in Buffalo, NY. I was overly impressed with Mr. Lightman’s professionalism and expertise in the field of Immigration Law and I would highly recommend using the services of Lightman LLC for any Immigration concerns. I would like to sincerely thank Mr. Lightman for exceeding my expectations and for providing me with a stress free immigration experience.”
-Brody Courtepatte – ALLPRO Direct Marketing

“Mr. Lightman is very professional. He’s always ready to answer all my questions (by email or phone calls). The fees were reasonable too. I remembered the night I sent an agreement letter, the next morning we started working on my case. Not 1 or 2 days after that, but the next morning! It proved Mr. Lightman was serious about the things he needed to do for his client.”
-Charity T.

“Our case seemed relatively straightforwards, US Citizen married to a Canadian who was applying for Permanent residency. Usually, whenever things seem “straightforward,” they rarely turn out to be that way. Mr. Lightman understood our backgrounds, ensured that our case was filed in the most complete manner, that there was appropriate follow-up, and that the timetable was as efficient as possible. We received the green card in less time than we had expected, and there were no surprises along the way. It really was straightforward.”
-Maude and Devesh Ashra

“I want to sincerely thank you for all your help throughout the entire Green Card process. I got approved today and we’re thrilled! You’ve been nothing but professional, courteous and helpful the entire time. You’ll be seeing us in a couple of years for the removal of the conditional green card status.”
-Glen M.

“I think Mr. Lightman is unbelievebly a great lawyer, he’s honest and provide excellent service and keep in touch with his cliente all the way. i have seen a least 3 lawyer in the past 3 years and i can honestly tell the difference and appreciate douglas work. I got married in August, 4th 2009, submitted the papers in october and got my interview lettre in december, january 7th 2010 got my approvel( 3months and half process)it was so fast! I will definitly recommend ligthman lawfirm to my love onces. thank you Doug again and i’m looking forward to seeing you to remove the conditions of my permanent resident.”
-Ms. Guzman

“Lightman Law Firm was a really big help for me when I did my H1B transfer. They have very reasonable legal fees, professional staff, and fast service. The most important thing is they spent time with me to understand my needs and were always available when I needed an answer. I have been really satisfied with them and I’m looking forward to working with them again for any future immigration needs.”
-Marshall Widjaja

“We recommend Doug because he is a very afforable and has knowledge of the full immigration process. He was always available and kept us updated throughout the entire process. Because of his expertise we were very comfortable throughout from our first visit until the completion of our case.”
-Chandra and Mohamed

“As an employer who worked with you to transfer an H-1B employee to our company, your service was extraordinary! You explained to me exactly the process, processed all letters, information and forms promptly with little work from me. What pleased me the most is that you always kept us informed continuously of the status of the process without us having to contact you!”
-Lorraine Elshiekh Director of HR – Catalyst Inc.

“Mr. Lightman was extremely thorough with our case and most importantly, always available and cordial unlike most others. We are very pleased and feel lucky that we found Doug for our immigration needs and look forward to using his services in the future.”
-Nida Kazmi & Juwad Shah

“I am exceptionally satisfied with Mr. Lightman’s service. From the moment we met till the very end he was very loyal, detailed and patient. I was surprised the most when replied my email on Sunday afternoon within 30 minutes, and when he noticed some number errors in my files before I submitted. If there is more professionals like him, world would be much better place!”
-Marko P.

“A quick word of thanks for the excellent job Mr. Lightman did to help me obtain my permanent residency card. I have used the services of several lawyers to apply for educational and professional visas. Of the attorneys I have used, none come even close to the professional attitude and personal service that I have received from Mr. Lightman and his firm. What distinguishes this firm from other attorneys is that he knows the details of your case, is quick to respond to your questions, and is honest, generous with his time, very polite, reliable and supportive. If you are looking for an excellent immigration lawyer who cares about the person behind the case, I strongly encourage you to contact Lightman Law Firm.”
-Oren Manor – Advantage Lock Key

“The process yesterday went extremely smooth. I now have a TN Visa :). Thank you for your assistance and patience. I really appreciate your help.”
-Eaymon Latif – FTS partners

“From start to finish Mr. Lightman was there for me and my fiance helping us understand the confusing fiance visa process. I started off using a do it yourself package but quickly realized it was not nearly enough. With Mr. Lightman’s assistance I was able to avoid errors that could’ve cost us the visa.”
-Deepak Patel

“Mr. Lightman is extremely professional. He achieved the desired results for us without delay and without surprises. His quoted fees were reasonable and the job was completed on budget and on time.”
-Sam J. Terzi – Fantas Eyes

“My case was sensitive but Mr Lightman helped me come out of it. It was a great pleasure to work with him. I would want to come back to Lightman Law Firm in future, if I required any legal assistance. I am very delighted with the outcome of the case, because it was a do and die situation for me. Most of the lawyers didnt take the case because the stakes were high. I appreciate the the level of patience Mr Doug had throughout the process. I want to thank Lightman Law Firm again for everything.”
-Poonam Gurung

“My husband and I approached Douglas Lightman to guide us through the application for Green Card through marriage. He was well prepared and immaculate. We had a very short time to file and Mr. Lightman made sure everything was correctly done and sent on time. He advised us regarding the interview and the application process went smoothly and quickly. Two weeks after the interview, we received the green card. In addition to being very professional, Mr. Lightman is very affordable. I already recommended him to another couple going through the same process and I will without doubt recommend him to anyone else who needs advise regarding immigration.”
-Ana S.

“Doug has done an excellent job with applying for my green card through marriage. The process was quick and without any complications. Doug was always available for questions or concerns and explained everything in detail. He is a great professional, I would highly recommend him!”
-Petra

“Just want to thank you again for everything, got my green card yesterday. this was one of the most stressing thing i did and you help me kept my sanity thanks again.”
-Andy F.

“I was referred to Doug Lightman by a trusted friend and I am extremely pleased I hired him to handle my green card case. He acted very professionally and diligently to ensure the case resulted in the best possible outcome. Highly recommend him!”
-Oli E.

To speak about your case, call 212-643-0985 or contact us via our email form.

Leave a Reply